What is a Literature Review?
"A review of the literature is a classification and evaluation of what accredited scholars and researchers have written on a topic, organized accourding to a guiding concept such as your research objective, thesis or the problem/issue you wish to address."
Books? Articles? Websites? Any and all of these may be included in a literature review, depending on the parameters of your project and any specifications arcticulated by the instructor of the course.
Your Literature Review Goal
Your objective is not to rack up points by listing as many articles as possible.
Instead, you want to demonstrate your intellectual ability to recognize relevant information, synthesize and evaluate it according to the guiding concept you have determined.
Your reader not only wants to know what literature exists, but also your informed evaluation of the literature.
The Literature Review Process
Know what a literature review is! Examples of Senior Theses are on reserve in the Halle Library.
Choose and develop a topic.
Research, summarize, synthesize and evaluate.
Write! An annotated bibliography is most helpful.
The Endicott College Writing Center can help you with this process.
A Model of a Literature Review
Thesis, Problem, Question or Statement
Introduction (write this last)
A. Theme One
B. Theme Two
C. Theme Three
D. Theme Four
Timeline to Success
Class 1 (first class)
Class 14 (last class)
What are Peer-Reviewed Articles?
Peer-reviewed articles are those articles that - prior to their publication - are reviewed by other scholars in the same field as the author ("peers") to help ensure that the published article will reflect solid scholarship.
Where Can You Find Peer-Reviewed Articles?
Peer-reviewed articles can be found in the following Halle Library journal databases:
- Sage Premier
- ProQuest Central
- ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)
These and additional academic databases are yours to explore at Halle Library. From on-campus, user access is automatically authenticated; from off-campus, you will need your Endicott College e-mail log-in credentials to gain access to Halle Library licensed databases.
Finding Books for Your Literature Review
The NOBLE Book Catalog enables you to search Halle Library's collection of print books, DVDs, and other circulating materials, as well as search any and all of the 28 library collections in the North of Boston Library Exchange with just a few keystrokes.
Halle Library's subscription to EBSCO Publishing's Academic Ebook Collection is another source for quality academic titles. These titles can be found in the online NOBLE Book Catalog. From off-campus, you will need your Endicott College e-mail account log-in credentials to gain access to EBSCO ebooks.
The Commonwealth Catalog is another option when searching for titles beyond the holdings of the NOBLE network and the academic ebook collection. You will need a to have your library card (your Endicott College I.D. card) registered with the Halle Library Circulation Desk to make use of this resource.
"How Long Do I Have With The Books?"
You may renew Endicott College Halle Library books multiple times, UNLESS another library patron has put a hold request on that title. You may borrow as many books as you like.
Books from OTHER NOBLE LIBRARIES have different loan rules; we must abide by those loan rules when the book is loaned from that other library to an Endicott College library patron. Typically books loaned from other NOBLE libraries to Endicott College patrons may be renewed once, unless other conditions apply (for example, a hold request for the book placed by another library user).
Books borrowed from the Commonwealth Catalog cannot be renewed. They must be shipped from their owning library, read, and returned to their owning library within 56 days.
Books borrowed via Inter-Library Loan (and these books may be coming in from any part of the globe) cannot be renewed.
Halle Library Hours - Academic Year
Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. to 12 midnight
Friday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 12 noon to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday 12 noon to 12 midnight
Holiday and other special hours are posted separately on the Halle Library web page.
Endicott College Writing Center
The Endicott College Writing Center can assist you with document citation and a host of other writing-specific concerns, whatever your level of skill or experience with writing. Visit them in-person (Library 126) or visit them online to set up an appointment.